Sunday, July 24, 2011


7th Annual HollyShorts Film Festival Takes off August 11-18 at Various Locations in Hollywood, CA

Hollywood, July 13, 2011---The organizers of HollyShorts ( have announced the full lineup for the 7th annual HollyShorts Film Festival, which takes place August 11-18 in various locations throughout Hollywood. Acclaimed writer Jamie Linden (Dear John, We Are Marshall) will premiere his short film “The Envelope in the Glovebox” which he used to pitch into the star-studded feature film adaptation “Ten Year,” that stars Channing Tatum, Kate Mara, Rosario Dawson, Justin Long, Anthony Mackie, and Scott Porter. “The Envelope in the Glovebox” written and directed by Linden will be featured at the HollyShorts opening night celebration at Arclight Hollywood, Thursday August 11.
Also joining Linden in the festival’s opening night celebration is Jacob Chase’s short film “After-School Special” which was written by Neil Labute (In the Company of Men, Nurse Betty), and produced by Andrew Carlberg. At HollyShorts opening night, the festival will also present Labute with a special Maverick Filmmaker Award. His short film “Sexting” will screen during the festival.
As previously announced the opening night celebration will honor the award-winning production team of Kevin Chinoy and Francesca Silvestri with the inaugural HollyShorts Maverick Producer’s Award and feature a screening of their top shorts including Kristen Kiwi Smith’s “The Spleendectomy,” starring Anna Faris, Jennifer Aniston and Andrea Buchanan’s “Room 10;” Jennifer Aniston’s “Free Burma,” starring Woody Harrelson; Kate Hudson’s “Cutlass,” starring Dakota Fanning, Virgina Madsen, Kurt Russell, and Kirsten Stewart; and Sean Baker, Spencer Chinoy and Dan Milano’s hit “Greg The Bunny.”
From August 12-18, HollyShorts is showcasing 300 short form projects including short films, music videos, web series, and commercials. HollyShorts sponsor Company 3 is supplying a total of $30,000 in post production and finishing services for the winners in the Best Short Film ($10K), Best Director ($10K), Best Commercial ($5K) and Best Music Video ($5K) categories respectfully. The winners will be announced during the HollyShorts awards on August 18.
“In our seventh year, HollyShorts has grown to become one of the top independent fest’s in the country and the biggest short film festival in Los Angeles with over 300 short form projects being showcased, a one of a kind star-studded opening night premiere at Arclight Hollywood, a week-long celebration of the top shorts from around the world, multiple industry panels, networking events, and major meet and greet opportunities,” said Daniel Sol and Theo Dumont, co-founders and co-directors of the HollyShorts Film Festival. “Along with our festival coordinator Nicole Castro, we look forward to once again bringing great shorts to Hollywood. HollyShorts is the starting block for many of the top next generation filmmakers and we can’t wait to unite everyone."
This year HollyShorts received a record 1,000 submissions with filmmakers from 36 countries submitting. The festival is showcasing a record number of films with an international array of countries represented in competition including: Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Norway, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, UK and the US.
HollyShorts will also showcase two Oscar® winning short films Luke Matheny’s God of Love (Best Short Film, Live Action winner) and Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan’s The Lost Thing (Best Animation winner) .
This year’s in competition short films includes top talent and recognizable stars such as: Jason Ritter, Bobby Canavale (The Other Guys), Alicia Witt (Friday Night Lights), Anthony Michael Hall (The Dark Knight), Dante Basco (First Glance), Beau Bridges (Max Payne) Brian Geraghty (The Hurt Locker), Carla Gugino (Watchmen), David Morse (The Green Mile), Devon Gummersall (Independence Day), Ernie Hudson (Ghost Busters), Gil Bellows (Unthinkable), Hector Elizondo (Monk), Jackie Harris (Yes Man), Alan Arkin (Little Miss Sunshine), Joel Edgerton (Warrior), Rider Strong (Boy Meets World), David Dastmalchian (Sushi Girl), Jon Huertas (Castle), Robin Wright Penn (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), Tom Arnold (Roseanne), Paul Ben Victor, Tom Hardy (Dark Knight Rises), Victor Rasuk (How To Make it America).
This year’s festival programs will include such genres as: Animation, Family, Horror, Drama, Thriller, Romance, Action, Experimental, Comedy, Sci-Fi, Documentary, Web Series, Commercials and Music Videos.
Advanced tickets and all access passes are now available on and opening night and fest all-access passes available at: and 2011 HollyShorts sponsors include Company 3, Final Draft, Moviola, Showbiz Store and Café, SLS Hotel, Martini Crew Booking, Celebrity Suites LA and the production entertainment showcase BEATBOXLA.

View the full lineup for HollyShorts 2011 by visiting

No comments: