Sunday, July 24, 2011


Hollywood, July 18, 2011---The organizers of HollyShorts ( announced today that Grammy Award-winning artist and Producer Pras Michel from The Fugees will world premiere exclusive footage from his new documentary film “SWEET MICKY FOR PRESIDENT,” during the opening night of the HollyShorts Film Festival. The film, which is a stunning account of the Haitian election following the earthquake that ravaged the island nation features appearances and interviews from Sean Penn, Ben Stiller, Danny Glover, Wyclef Jean, Nigel Barker among others. HollyShorts opening night takes place Thursday August 11 at the Arclight Hollywood. The festival takes place in various venues throughout Hollywood August 11-18, 2011.

“SWEET MICKY FOR PRESIDENT” was produced by Pras Michel, and directed Ben Patterson. Michel and Patterson will be on hand to showcase the clip and participate in a special Q&A with attendees.

“SWEET MICKY FOR PRESIDENT” is a look through the election after the earthquake and also gives a historical account on Haiti, a hybrid story on the island nation.
As previously announced, HollyShorts opening night will also feature acclaimed writer Jamie Linden’s (Dear John, We Are Marshall) short film “The Envelope in the Glovebox” which he used to pitch into the star-studded feature film adaptation “Ten Year,” that stars Channing Tatum, Kate Mara, Rosario Dawson, Justin Long, Anthony Mackie, and Scott Porter. The opening night lineup also includes Jacob Chase’s short film “After-School Special” which was written by Neil Labute (In the Company of Men, Nurse Betty), and produced by Andrew Carlberg. The festival will also present Labute with a special Maverick Filmmaker Award. His short film “Sexting” will screen during the festival.
In addition, the opening night celebration will honor the award-winning production team of Kevin Chinoy and Francesca Silvestri with the inaugural HollyShorts Maverick Producer’s Award and feature a screening of their top shorts including Kristen Kiwi Smith’s “The Spleendectomy,” starring Anna Faris, Jennifer Aniston and Andrea Buchanan’s “Room 10;” Jennifer Aniston’s “Free Burma,” starring Woody Harrelson; Kate Hudson’s “Cutlass,” starring Dakota Fanning, Virgina Madsen, Kurt Russell, and Kirsten Stewart; and Sean Baker, Spencer Chinoy and Dan Milano’s hit “Greg The Bunny.”
From August 12-18, HollyShorts is showcasing 300 short form projects including short films, music videos, web series, and commercials. HollyShorts sponsor Company 3 is supplying a total of $30,000 in post production and finishing services for the winners in the Best Short Film ($10K), Best Director ($10K), Best Commercial ($5K) and Best Music Video ($5K) categories respectfully. The winners will be announced during the HollyShorts awards on August 18.
For tickets please visit

No comments: